Wd My Passport 500 Gb External Hard Disk

Reviews for WD My Passport 500 GB External Hard Disk

Wd My Passport 500 Gb External Hard Disk

65/100

Score

 464

Reviews

Price 4,000
On Flipkart

Price

PROS
Design & Looks
Features
Price & Value
Positive Feedback

396

Negative Feedback

68

amazon's summer sale

Review Summary

For WD My Passport 500 GB External Hard Disk
Performance
81%
19%
Compatibility
70%
30%
Price & Value
89%
11%
Design & Looks
94%
6%
Data Protection & Security
81%
19%
Usability
89%
11%
Features
92%
8%

Reviews in Detail

For WD My Passport 500 GB External Hard Disk
Reviews of Performance Showing 15 out of 111
81% users reported satisfactory for the Performance.
19% consumers are displeased with the Performance.
Good
at Flipkart
on Nov 14, 2016
I am getting around 50-60 mbps transfer speed consistently. but as fas as i know the speed depends on the hdd as well as your system configuration. my guess would be it would give even higher transfer speeds if you had a high config pc. 50-60 mbps is not slow but i won't call it fast .
Good
at Flipkart
on Nov 02, 2016
Its still working properly and smoothly
Good
at Flipkart
on Jan 26, 2016
Its transfer rate is pretty fast even wid usb 2
Good
at Flipkart
on Feb 16, 2015
This review is worth writing for this masterpiece device. and i booked it got it, and the data transfer speed is amazing
Bad
at Flipkart
on Jan 01, 2015
Always keep a backup copy of your important stuffs and dont rely blindly on this piece of shit
Good
at Flipkart
on Nov 25, 2014
Faster data transfer
Good
at Flipkart
on Oct 11, 2014
Our data gets copied fast plus easy to carry
Good
at Snapdeal
on Aug 27, 2014
Data transfer speed is good .
Good
at Snapdeal
on Aug 01, 2014
This is a best speed of data transfer .
Good
at Flipkart
on Jul 06, 2014
I am using product since 10 months, so far no issues and working smoothly
Good
at Flipkart
on Jun 12, 2014
Trasfer speed is quite high for its v3
Good
at Flipkart
on Jun 08, 2014
This is a good by from flip cart on this price, i am using it for last 10 months, data transfer rate is really fast .
Good
at Flipkart
on May 27, 2014
Good read write speed
Good
at Flipkart
on May 23, 2014
It works really smooth and transfer speed is high
Good
at Flipkart
on May 14, 2014
It's rare to see a 2tb external hdd without a power adapter but wd made it possible. i don't have many complaints about data transfer speed as it completely depends upon compatibility and pc's health. i have a latest ultrabook on which the data transfer of a movie
Reviews of Compatibility Showing 15 out of 61
70% users reported satisfactory for the Compatibility.
30% consumers are displeased with the Compatibility.
Good
at Flipkart
on Jan 26, 2016
Its transfer rate is pretty fast even wid usb 2
Good
at Flipkart
on Jul 06, 2014
I am using this for backup my personal data and this will give some slowness if you use usb extension cable, but that is not a big deal
Bad
at Flipkart
on Jun 12, 2014
0 usb support
Good
at Flipkart
on May 27, 2014
Performed better with windows 8
Good
at Flipkart
on May 14, 2014
I don't have many complaints about data transfer speed as it completely depends upon compatibility and pc's health
Good
at Flipkart
on Apr 11, 2014
Read/write on a usb 3 port goes up to 105mbps in my laptop and stays at least at 70 mbps all the time
Good
at Flipkart
on Mar 26, 2014
Compatible to usb 3
Good
at Flipkart
on Mar 23, 2014
I am very happy and the transfer speed with the usb 3
Good
at Flipkart
on Mar 12, 2014
Usb 3
Bad
at Flipkart
on Feb 25, 2014
I tested with usb 2 to copy 13. 6gb file and the speed was between 22-25mbs, then i tested on usb 3 of the same 13. then i tried on my computer which has ssd and and usb 3, the same file of 13
Good
at Flipkart
on Feb 16, 2014
My first wd usb hdd, so far i owned 3 seagate usb drives. i don't have usb3 on my motherboard so i can't really comment on the usb 3 speeds
Good
at Flipkart
on Feb 14, 2014
It can run well with power from just the usb port. data transfer speeds are very fast, especially if it is connected through a usb 3 port
Bad
at Flipkart
on Feb 04, 2014
Never get dillusioned by the spped of usb 3
Good
at Flipkart
on Jan 16, 2014
Data transfer speed, usb 2. usb 3
Good
at Flipkart
on Jan 03, 2014
The usb cable length is quite adequate seriously you cannot expect a meter long cable for a portable device
Reviews of Price & Value Showing 15 out of 107
89% users reported satisfactory for the Price & Value.
11% consumers are displeased with the Price & Value.
Good
at Flipkart
on Nov 14, 2016
Since, flipkart started allowing 3rd party sellers, best way to make sure you still get the old flipkart experience. material is cheap plastic, not at all durable. so, overall a good product
Good
at Flipkart
on Nov 02, 2016
Always choose western digital hardisk because its the best of all
Good
at Flipkart
on Oct 02, 2016
Thanks for flipkart for good service .
Good
at Flipkart
on Aug 16, 2016
The product is excellent - compact and user friendly and backed by support from the company. the price is very competitive and the packaging and delivery was excellent
Good
at Flipkart
on Jul 06, 2016
Would recommend this product .
Bad
at Flipkart
on Dec 22, 2015
I got fed up and then accepted ultra which is a cheaper one .
Good
at Flipkart
on Feb 16, 2015
This review is worth writing for this masterpiece device. i never had a wd hard disk before, but read alot about the best hdd's in the market and this one was it, the number one rated hard disk of 2014, and what a lucky day for me, shopping on flipkart i came across this at 50% off. build quality is really good
Bad
at Flipkart
on Jan 01, 2015
Never go for this cheap and unreliable hard disk. best of luck
Good
at Flipkart
on Nov 25, 2014
Worth the price
Bad
at Flipkart
on Oct 04, 2014
Yeah 3yrs warranty but you would do of that when data gone?
Good
at Snapdeal
on Aug 27, 2014
Good looking and handy product from wd. data transfer speed is good .
Good
at Snapdeal
on Aug 01, 2014
This is a best speed of data transfer .
Bad
at Flipkart
on Jun 12, 2014
0 usb support
Good
at Flipkart
on Jun 08, 2014
This is a good by from flip cart on this price, i am using it for last 10 months, data transfer rate is really fast .
Good
at Flipkart
on Jun 04, 2014
If she has no complaints about it, that means it's doing its job flawlessly. good product altogether .
Reviews of Design & Looks Showing 15 out of 70
94% users reported satisfactory for the Design & Looks.
6% consumers are displeased with the Design & Looks.
Good
at Flipkart
on Nov 14, 2016
Still looks sleek and has a minimalistic design
Good
at Flipkart
on Oct 02, 2016
It is very compact and reliable
Good
at Flipkart
on Aug 16, 2016
The product is excellent - compact and user friendly and backed by support from the company
Good
at Flipkart
on Jul 06, 2016
It is lightweight and compact
Bad
at Flipkart
on Feb 16, 2015
Most of all, its very small and sleek
Good
at Snapdeal
on Aug 27, 2014
Good looking and handy product from wd
Bad
at Flipkart
on Jun 04, 2014
Looks kind of fancy
Bad
at Flipkart
on May 14, 2014
Mkv file of size 4gb transfered in less than a minute
Good
at Flipkart
on May 09, 2014
Compact. really compact. compact. really compact .
Good
at Flipkart
on Mar 26, 2014
Portable size & light weight
Good
at Flipkart
on Mar 23, 2014
Looks very stable and have been using it for quite some time now over 6 months .
Good
at Flipkart
on Mar 13, 2014
It is really compact
Good
at Flipkart
on Mar 12, 2014
Hard disk is portable and compact. looks great
Good
at Flipkart
on Feb 25, 2014
It's tiny and feel 500gb is more than enough to copy files
Good
at Flipkart
on Feb 16, 2014
The hdd seems a bit lighter/less bulky that the seagate counterparts
Reviews of Data Protection & Security Showing 15 out of 32
81% users reported satisfactory for the Data Protection & Security.
19% consumers are displeased with the Data Protection & Security.
Good
at Flipkart
on Aug 16, 2016
Initially i was going for 1tb then i found there is a difference of 1k in price, i analyzed that rarely i have data to backup only 100gb then why go for 1tb? so i bought this and i am very happy the product
Bad
at Flipkart
on Jan 31, 2016
My computer doesn't recognize my external hd half time, and when it does it asks the disk to be formatted
Bad
at Flipkart
on Jan 01, 2015
Even though this wd product is providing a security feature called "encrypt your entire drive". sometime, it will not accept even the correct password. always keep a backup copy of your important stuffs and dont rely blindly on this piece of shit
Good
at Flipkart
on Jul 06, 2014
I am using this for backup my personal data and this will give some slowness if you use usb extension cable, but that is not a big deal
Bad
at Flipkart
on May 31, 2014
Product is good but i tool passport just for automatic backup but its not executing successfully
Good
at Flipkart
on May 14, 2014
I recommend this to backup freaks
Good
at Flipkart
on Apr 21, 2014
I hope like seagate backup plus fast 4tb external hard disk without external power with price tag of 22539 wd wiil also launch within the price tag of 19k .
Good
at Flipkart
on Mar 13, 2014
Has got a locking system to be protected from virus
Good
at Flipkart
on Mar 12, 2014
Has many softwares preinstalled for backup and also password protection
Good
at Flipkart
on Feb 16, 2014
However, it would be great, if they would have provided with some safety case
Good
at Flipkart
on Feb 14, 2014
Others are all working fine but i keep two for safety. it is working fine and i use it to back-up data as well as carry data from office to home and when i travel
Good
at Flipkart
on Feb 04, 2014
Buy this if you want a quick backup
Good
at Flipkart
on Dec 14, 2013
One word of caution, if you want to use it on both windows and mac, set the format to exfat .
Good
at Flipkart
on Oct 17, 2013
I decided not to install the backup software that comes in the hdd and just plug and play
Good
at Flipkart
on Oct 15, 2013
Its a very fast and secure externel hard disk,. its has builtin password protected software,
Reviews of Usability Showing 15 out of 69
89% users reported satisfactory for the Usability.
11% consumers are displeased with the Usability.
Bad
at Flipkart
on Dec 03, 2016
Very worst quality
Bad
at Flipkart
on Nov 14, 2016
It is perfectly named - a passport sized hdd, it can easily fit in your pocket. material is cheap plastic, not at all durable
Good
at Flipkart
on Oct 02, 2016
It is very compact and reliable
Good
at Flipkart
on Aug 16, 2016
I have bought it for my personal use and what i found that it is very compact and reliable. now i am worry free from any data loss and also its easy to carry
Good
at Flipkart
on Feb 16, 2015
I was searching for a portable hard disk online for about a year , and moreover because i had a 1tb hdd by buffalo and a 500 gb hard disk by transcend. build quality is really good
Good
at Flipkart
on Oct 11, 2014
Our data gets copied fast plus easy to carry
Good
at Flipkart
on Jun 12, 2014
Light weight and portable
Good
at Flipkart
on May 27, 2014
Light weight and nice. slightly poor build quality
Good
at Flipkart
on May 09, 2014
Super quality. super quality
Good
at Flipkart
on Apr 21, 2014
I don't have to carry lots of external hard disks along with me as it is enough spacious
Good
at Flipkart
on Apr 11, 2014
I would just like to say this is an extremely compact, albeit heavy, portable hard drive with a huge capacity and even more amazing speeds
Good
at Flipkart
on Mar 26, 2014
Portable size & light weight. small n hard cable makes it irritating to use with laptop, when on lap
Good
at Flipkart
on Mar 12, 2014
Hard disk is portable and compact
Good
at Flipkart
on Mar 04, 2014
Because light-weighted external hard disk and very portable if i need to bring to other place
Bad
at Flipkart
on Feb 16, 2014
I see absolutely no difference in quality or general performance
Reviews of Features Showing 14 out of 14
92% users reported satisfactory for the Features.
8% consumers are displeased with the Features.
Good
at Flipkart
on Aug 16, 2016
I have never bought a electronic item on flipkart up till now but once buying it from here i have decided to source my future needs from flipkart only
Good
at Flipkart
on May 08, 2014
No software or hardware problem till now .
Bad
at Flipkart
on Feb 25, 2014
Then i tried on my computer which has ssd and and usb 3, the same file of 13
Good
at Flipkart
on Feb 15, 2014
Additional hard drive software from wd is good
Good
at Flipkart
on Dec 10, 2013
Good software
Good
at Flipkart
on Oct 17, 2013
I decided not to install the backup software that comes in the hdd and just plug and play
Good
at Flipkart
on Oct 09, 2013
Plug n play, comes with software for additional functionality like password security
Good
at Flipkart
on Sep 15, 2013
Backup and password lock software is the superlative
Good
at Flipkart
on Aug 28, 2013
Excellent harddisk with great performance including password security and software support
Good
at Flipkart
on Aug 04, 2013
Its software support is also good
Good
at Flipkart
on Jul 31, 2013
The backup software included with hdd is also good
Good
at Flipkart
on Dec 29, 2012
Software bundled with this portable disk are wd apps which include wd unlocker,wd utilities ,wd security and wd smartware, which helps you to monitor,backup,erase and encrypted your disk
Good
at Flipkart
on Dec 25, 2012
The software provided with this is really good for creating backup
Good
at Flipkart
on Aug 08, 2012
Software works flawlessly

Online Price in India 13 hours ago

For WD My Passport 500 GB External Hard Disk
STORAGE CAPACITY
ALL VARIANTS
Lowest price of WD My Passport 500 GB External Hard Disk external-hard-drive  at flipkart India
as on : Apr 16, 2017
4000
In Stock
Lowest price of WD My Passport 500 GB External Hard Disk external-hard-drive  at flipkart India
-
Out of Stock
Lowest price of WD My Passport 500GB Portable External Hard Drive Storage USB 3.0 Silver (WDBKXH5000ASL-NESN) external-hard-drive  at amazon India
as on : Apr 05, 2017
10328
In Stock
Lowest price of WD My Passport 500GB Portable External Hard Drive Storage USB 3.0 Black (WDBKXH5000ABK-NESN) external-hard-drive  at amazon India
10683
In Stock
Lowest price of WD My Passport for Mac 2TB Portable External Hard Drive Storage USB 3.0 (WDBZYL0020BSL-NESN) external-hard-drive  at amazon India
as on : Apr 05, 2017
19969
In Stock
Lowest price of WD My Passport for Mac 2TB Portable External Hard Drive Storage USB 3.0 external-hard-drive  at amazon India
as on : Apr 05, 2017
20299
In Stock

Product Disclaimer

by ReadyViews
  • The above analysis of WD My Passport 500 GB External Hard Disk is done on the basis of 464 reviews collected from various stores across India.
  • The customer review score of WD My Passport 500 GB External Hard Disk is 65 / 100.
  • This product was last updated on April 23rd, 2017.
  • The Best price of WD My Passport 500 GB External Hard Disk in India is 4,000 on Flipkart .
  • The Price of WD My Passport 500 GB External Hard Disk fluctuate regularly and the last price updated 13 hours ago.
  • The Storage options for WD My Passport 500 GB External Hard Disk - 500 gb, , 2 tb.
  • This product is available in 1 color .
  • The Best features of WD My Passport 500 GB External Hard Disk are Design & Looks, Features, Price & Value.
  • This product is available on Amazon, Flipkart and Snapdeal.
  • For the latest updates of WD My Passport 500 GB External Hard Disk, Please visit ReadyViews regularly.
Product Available at 4,000 on Flipkart  Go to Store OR  See all Prices

MORE REVIEWS

;